The Orthogeriatrics Team at Ashford & St Peter's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust have been shortlisted for this years’ prestigious BMJ Awards (Clinical Leadership Category), sponsored by the General Medical Council and Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management.

Hip fracture is one of the most serious consequences of falls in the elderly, with a mortality of 10% at one month and 30% at one year. There is also significant morbidity associated with hip fractures, with only 50% returning to their previous level of mobility and 10-20% of patients being discharged to a residential or nursing care placement. Elderly patients with hip fractures have complex medical, surgical and rehabilitation needs and a well-coordinated multidisciplinary team approach is essential.

The Orthogeriatics project team was implemented at the Trust in 2010; the team includes two Orthogeriatricians (Dr. Radcliffe Lisk, Clinical Lead & Dr. Keefai Yeong), a trauma coordinator (Hazel Watters), trauma surgeon (Mr. Kevin Newman), trauma anaesthetist (Martin Raymond), hip fracture nurse & physiotherapist and occupational therapist. The team’s first task was to map out the current pathway of a typical hip fracture patient. This allowed them to analyse issues throughout the pathway in greater detail and implement changes needed.

Over the last three years the team has shown significant improvements, achieving best care for their hip fracture patients, ranked 1st nationally with 88% (national average 47%) in the 2012 National Hip Fracture Database report for achieving best practice, and also reducing mortality significantly.

Orthogeriatrician Dr Keefai Yeong commented, ‘The programme has transformed the way we care for our patients with hip fractures. There is greater collaboration and teamwork across the board and this has resulted in excellent results we have seen, and in turn being shortlisted for this great award!’

The BMJ Award results will be announced at the ceremony on the 8th May 2014 at the Park Plaza Hotel, Westminster.


The above picture shows (left to right); Craig Binch, Hazel Watters, Mr. Kevin Newman, Lucy Miles, Rachel Parrott